Planning and Zoning Department


The office of the Departments of Planning and Zoning is located on the 2nd Floor of the Mason Building
116 East Washington Street in Charles Town, W.V.

The mission of the Departments of Planning and Zoning is to provide a healthy, pleasant environment for those who live, work and visit Jefferson County, by blending the unique natural and built resources of our community with quality, sustainable development that ensures responsible and sound growth. We are a knowledgeable, respectful, dedicated staff who welcome community based problem solving and public/private cooperation that assists the community in implementing standards which create a positive impact and achieves its ultimate vision.

View Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals Archived Webcasts (check schedule)

Planning & Zoning Recording Policy


Click Here to view the Approved 2014 Comprehensive Plan Update

Envision Jefferson 2035 Comprehensive Plan & Future Land Use Guide



string(76) "Smarty error: unable to read resource: "module_db_tpl:News;summaryfrontpage""