SPECIAL SESSION

State of West Virginia, County of Jefferson, to-wit:

At a Special Session of the County Commission of said County and State continued and held at 100 E. Washington Street, Charles Town WV and virtually via GoToWebinar on Thursday, May 30, 2024, beginning at 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT:Steve Stolipher, President
Jane Tabb, Vice President
Pasha Majdi, Commissioner
Edwina Benites-LM, county administrator
Nathan Cochran, Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
Jacqueline Shadle, County Clerk
Jessica James, assistant deputy county administrator

In re: Special Session – Certification of the 2024 primary election results and candidate interviews for the vacant Shepherdstown and Harpers Ferry District commission seats

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by President Stolipher followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

- 1. Nikki Painter, Chief Deputy Clerk, Jefferson County Clerk's Office/Elections requested the approval and signature of the certification of the 2024 Primary Election results, including the precinct audit form.
 - Motion by Mr. Stolipher to approve the certification and signature of the 2024 primary election results. Motion seconded and unanimously approved.
- Candidate interviews for the vacant Shepherdstown and Harpers Ferry District Commission seats from the pool of candidates who applied, the sitting commissioners selected six applicants to interview, with one applicant withdrawing prior to the date of the interviews. The individuals interviewed for the Shepherdstown and Harpers Ferry vacancies were: Deirdre Catterton (R), Dr. James Cook (M), Kelvin Upson (R), Patricia Noland (D), and Todd Cotgreave (M).

At the conclusion of the interviews, President Stolipher opened the floor for discussion and candidate nominations, beginning with the Harpers Ferry District, vacated by a Republican candidate.

- Commissioner Majdi nominated Kelvin Upson (R) for the Harpers Ferry District seat, vacated by a member of the Republican Party. There being no additional nominations, President Stolipher closed nominations for the Harpers Ferry seat.
- Motion by Mr. Stolipher to appoint Kelvin Upson as Jefferson County Commissioner for the Harpers Ferry District under WV Code §6-6-7 and WV Code § 3-10, effective May 30, 2024, until the certification of the November 2024 General Election results. Motion seconded and unanimously approved.
- Commissioner Stolipher then opened nominations for the Shepherdstown District seat vacated by a member of the Mountain Party. Commissioner Majdi nominated Dr. James Cook (M.), and Commissioner Tabb nominated Patricia Noland (D). There being no additional nominations, President Stolipher closed nominations for the Shepherdstown seat.
- Commissioner Tabb voted in favor of appointing Patrica Noland to the Shepherdstown District seat, while Commissioners Majdi and Stolipher voted to appoint Dr. James Cook to the Shepherdstown District seat under WV Code 6-6-7 and potentially WV Code 3-10, effective May 30, 2024. Having the majority of

the votes (2-1), Dr. James Cook was selected to fill the vacant seat.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:21 a.m.

Steve Stolipher, PRESIDENT

Respectively Submitted: Jacqueline Shadle County Clerk