Minutes

Special Session

Jefferson County Commission

Tuesday, January 14, 2025

A special session of the Jefferson County Commission was held on Tuesday, January 14, 2025, during the first quarterly session at 3:00 p.m. The meeting was held via Zoom and in-person. Present were President Pasha Majdi, Vice President Mike Mood, Commissioner Steve Stolipher, Commissioner Cara Keys, and Commissioner Jack Hefestay. Also present were Edwina Benites-LM, County Administrator, Nathan Cochran, Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, Jacki Shadle, County Clerk, and Lynn Dillow, Administrative Clerk. The archived meeting of the Tuesday, January 14, 2025, meeting is available on the Jefferson County Commission website.

Call to Order

Pledge of Allegiance

1. Jefferson County Commission; Luke Seigfried, County Planner

Comprehensive Plan: Consideration of the Comprehensive Plan

Commissioner Majdi motioned to request that the Planning Commission designate both parcels 19-7-22-33-9, 8.31 acre Shirley as continued rural land use classification as it was in the 2035 Comprehensive Plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hefestay. The motion was approved 4-0. Commissioner Mood recused himself from the vote on this item.

Commissioner Hefestay motioned to accept the first 7 staff recommended edits of the Comprehensive Plan as presented. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Stolipher. The motion was approved unanimously 5-0.

Commissioner Mood motioned to designate all parcels mentioned on page 6 item 32 as residential or commercial. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Stolipher. The motion was approved 4-0. Commissioner Keys recused herself from the vote on this item.

Commissioner Hefestay motioned to strike objective 1.4 from the Comprehensive Plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Mood. The motion was approved 4-1 (Stolipher).

Commissioner Stolipher motioned to accept the Comprehensive Plan updates and include the following edits 1 - 10, to include a letter including reasons and discussions. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Mood. The motion was approved unanimously 5-0.

2. Jefferson County Commission; Delegate Joe Funkhouser, Delegate Wayne Clark; Delegate Chris Anders; Ranson Councilmember Amanda Stroud; Ranson Councilmember Ken Suits

Commission Legislative Workshop

Public Comment for the Legislative Workshop was provided by:

- 1. Amanda Stroud
- 2. Christine Marshall
- 3. Ken Suits
- 4. Jacquelyn Milliron

Commissioner Majdi motioned to direct the County Administrator to delineate priorities as discussed today in the memorandum and present at the February 6th commission meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Stolipher. The motion was approved unanimously 5-0.

Adjourn

Having no further business, Commissioner Majdi motioned to adjourn the meeting. The Commission adjourned at 5:38 p.m.

Pasha Majdi, PRESIDENT

Respectfully submitted Lynn Dillow Jefferson County Commission Administrative Clerk