

PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Jefferson County Commission Congratulates Newly Elected Charles Town Officials

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Edwina Benites, County Administrator

Phone: 304-728-3284

Email: ebenites@jeffersoncountywv.org

CHARLES TOWN, WV (May 23, 2025) – The Jefferson County Commission extends its congratulations to the newly elected officials in the City of Charles Town following the recent municipal election.

Mike George was elected Mayor. Council seats were won by Elizabeth Ricketts (Ward 1), Jeff Hynes (Ward 2), Nate Hartman (Ward 3), and Andie Sugrue (Ward 4).

"We congratulate these individuals for stepping up to serve their community," said Commission President Pasha Majdi. "Local government plays a vital role in daily life. From public safety to essential services, the work of local officials has a direct and lasting impact on the community. Stepping up to serve in these roles shows a strong commitment to civic duty and community well-being."

The Jefferson County Commission looks forward to continuing its partnership with the City of Charles Town to ensure effective, responsive local governance for all residents.

###