Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The County Commission is the governing body of a county. Jefferson County is served by five county commissioners each representing a different magisterial district of the county. The President and Vice President of the Commission are elected each year at the first meeting in January by the body.






Jane M. Tabb, President
Middleway District
Term: January 1, 2019 - December 31, 2024









Patsy Noland, Commissioner
Kabletown District
Term: January 1, 2015 - December 31, 2020







Josh Compton, Commissioner
Charles Town District
Term: January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2022







Caleb Wayne Hudson, Commissioner
Shepherdstown District
Term: January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2022






Ralph Lorenzetti, Vice President

Harpers Ferry District

Term:  November 27, 2018 - December 31, 2020









Duties of the County Commission:

The Constitution of the State of West Virginia outlines the duties performed by the office of county commission (Section 11, Article 9). Other duties and responsibilities are specified in Chapter 7 of the West Virginia Code. These include, but are not limited to:

  • Custodian of all deeds and other papers presented for record in the county
  • Administration of internal police and fiscal affairs of the county
  • Authority to lay and disburse county levies as prescribed by law
  • Judge of election, qualification , canvass and return of all county and district offices
  • Preparation and adoption of budget for all county offices
  • Jurisdiction in all matters of probate
  • Appoint guardians for minor children, receive court settlements generally
  • Own and maintain county property
  • Sit as a Board of Review and Equalization to hear appeals on property values for assessment purposes
  • Appoint Fiduciary Commissioners to oversee and settle certain estates as required
  • Appoint members of certain county boards, authorities and public service districts
  • Adopt ordinances and orders in areas of jurisdiction
  • Approve purchases and payments for all county elected offices

The County Commission hold its regular meeting at 9:30 a.m. on the first (1st) Thursday and at 6:00 p.m. on the third (3rd) Thursday.  When applicable, the Commission will meet on the fifth (5th) Thursday at 9:30 a.m.  Unless otherwise noted, the meetings will be held in the Jefferson County Meeting Room located in the basement of the Old Charles Town Library at 200 East Washington Street, Charles Town, West Virginia, 25414.  Special and Emergency Sessions may be called as needed, and the times and locations of these sessions will be noted on the front page of the agenda.

All agenda requests must be submitted by 12:00 noon the Thursday prior to the meeting.


Facebook Button